Online edition of India's National Newspaper
Friday, Jul 06, 2007

News: ePaper | Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous |
Classifieds | Jobs | Obituary |

Sport - Sports : General Printer Friendly Page   Send this Article to a Friend

Ibram Shah stars in Tiruchi’s win

THANJAVUR: J. Ibram Shah’s four-wicket haul was the highlight of Tiruchi’s seven-wicket win over Perambalur in a ‘A’ zone league encounter of the TNCA under-19 inter-district cricket tournament here on Thursday.

The scores:

‘A’ zone: Perambalur 90 in 39.1 overs (J. Ibram Shah four for 19) lost to Tiruchi 91 for three in 26.4 overs (Manivel three for 29).

Kancheepuram 238 for eight in 50 overs (Chaturved 59, Vignesh 45, Vijayshankar 36) bt Tiruvannamalai 184 in 44.5 overs (Nawaz 47, Murali 37, Aashish Kumar three for 31).

‘B’ zone: Thoothukudi DCA 390 for six in 50 overs (D. Jegan 154, Asif Irfan Khan 124, Sathish Kumar three for 77) bt Pondicherry DCA 129 in 30 overs (P. Suresh 33, K. Sivakumar four for 43, T. Marimuthu three for 21).

Villupuram DCA 233 in 46 overs (A. Purusothaman 66, M. Manivannan 50, A. Sammer Khan 46, Sathish four 40) bt Pondicherry DCA 191 in 43.4 overs (S. Kandhan 33, S. Balraj 42 n.o., K. Vignesh three for 29, R. Venkatesh three for 47).

Villupuram DCA 262 for five in 50 overs (A. Purusothaman 66, J. Dhananjayan 98, M. Sridhar Raj 63) bt Sivagangai DCA 96 in 34.2 overs (D. Mani Maran five for 14).

Sivagangai DCA 142 in 44 overs (C. Somasundram 46, K. Sivakumar four for 14) lost to Thoothukudi DCA 143 for seven in 27 overs (D. Jegan 30, T. Marimuthu 43, G. Senthil Kumar three for 36).

Sivagangai DCA 224 in 47.4 overs lost to Pondicherry DCA 225 for seven (L. Arun 37, M. Malairaja 54, R. Vigneshwaran three for 49).

Villupuram DCA 250 in 49.5 overs (K. Vignesh 51, J. Dhanajayan 48, A. Sameer Khan 49) bt Thoothukudi DCA 106 in 34.4 overs (A. Sameer Khan three for 29).

St. Mary’s in final

St. Mary’s HSS, Dindigul and TVS HSS, Madurai entered the senior section final, while St. Mary’s HSS, Dindigul, St. Britto HSS, Virudhunagar Hindu Nadar HSS and Devanger HSS, Chinnalapatti entered the super senior section semifinals in the 28th annual State-level inter-school volleyball tournament in Madurai on Thursday.

The results:

Seniors (semifinals): St. Mary’s HSS, Dindigul bt VMJ HSS 25-3, 25-4; TVS HSS bt St. Britto HSS 25-19, 25-9. Quarterfinals: St. Mary’s bt PKN HSS, Thirumangalam 25-6, 25-9; VMJ bt Vikaasa 25-13, 25-22.

Super-seniors (quarterfinals): St. Mary’s bt Idayam Rajendran Residential School 25-8, 25-4; St. Britto bt TVS HSS 25-16, 25-13; Devanger, Chinnalapatti bt VMJ 25-9, 25-15; Virudhunagar Hindu Nadar w/o Mangayakarasi HSS.

Selection trials

Trials for the selection of the Dindigul District under-22 and under-17 cricket teams will be held at 2.30 p.m. on July 7 and for the under-13 team at 4 p.m. on July 8 at GTN Arts College ground, Dindigul.

Those born on or after 1.9.1985 (u-22) on or after 1.9.1990 (u-17) and on or after 1.9.1994 (u-13) are eligible to participate. Contact N. Venkataraman, secretary, DDCA, Ph: 98421-77275.

TDCA trials

The trials for the selection of Tuticorin District under-17 and under-13 cricket teams will be held at Spic ground, Tuticorin at 2 p.m. on July 14. Those born on after 1.9.1990 (u-17) and 1.9.1994 (u-13) are eligible. Contact, S.S. Manivannan, secretary, TDCA, Ph: 98422-35721.


The three-day seventh Tamil Nadu State inter-district shooting competition will get under way at Dindigul on Friday.

Marina, Thanjavur I triumph

Marina Beach Volleyball Club and Thanjavur I won the men’s and women’s titles respectively at the third State beach volleyball championship in Thanjavur on Tuesday.

The results:

Men: Final: Marina Beach VC (Ramamurthy-Nixon) bt City Police (Saravanan-Jagan) 22-20, 15-21, 15-8.

Third place: SRM (Sivaraj-Guna) bt ES SA (Baskar-Tirunavukarasu) 21-18, 21-17.

Women: Final: Thanjavur I (Sasikala-Nadhiya) bt Pearl City (Aruna-Thilagavathi) 21-12, 14-21, 15-7.

Third place: Marina Beach (Jayashree-Karpagam) bt Thanjavur III (Ramya Devi-Saranya) 21-10, 21-18.

Tennis tournament

The Tiruchi District Tennis Association along with City Club will conduct the all-India ranking tennis tournament for men rom July 9 to 15 at City Club, Tiruchi.

The qualifying rounds for the tournament will be conducted on July 7 and 8 at City Club, Officers Club and Union Club.

The doubles final will be on July 14, while the singles final on July 15.

Printer friendly page  
Send this article to Friends by E-Mail


News: ePaper | Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous |
Classifieds | Jobs | Obituary | Updates: Breaking News |


Sportstar Subscribe

News Update

The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Archives | Contacts | Subscription
Group Sites: The Hindu | The Hindu ePaper | Business Line | Business Line ePaper | Sportstar | Frontline | Publications | eBooks | Images | Home |

Copyright 2007, The Hindu. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu