Online edition of India's National Newspaper
Wednesday, Aug 01, 2007

Citi Bank

News: ePaper | Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
Classifieds | Jobs |

Sport - Sports : General Printer Friendly Page   Send this Article to a Friend

Pradeep, Krithika win titles

Rajapalayam: R.A. Pradeep Kumar of Chennai and Pon N. Krithika of St. Joseph’s Engineering College (Chennai) lifted the boys’ and girls’ titles respectively in the Shri T.P. Textiles State junior chess championships, organised by the Rajapalayam Chess Club, here on Tuesday.

Pradeep scored nine points in 11 rounds and bagged a cash award of Rs.2,400 besides the S. Ramkrishnan Memorial Trophy.

Krithika collected nine points from 11 rounds and got Rs.2,000 besides V.V. Rajamani Ammal Trophy.

The top four players in each section have qualified for the forthcoming National junior chess championships to be held in Maharashtra.

Final Placings:

Boys: 1. R.A. Pradeep Kumar (Che) 9 points; 2. V.A.V. Rajesh (Tlr) 8; 3-6: P. Saravana Krishnan (Jos), P. Karthikeyan (Jos), R.K. Ranjith (MCA), M. Muthu Alagappan (Tlr) 7.5; 7-10: V. Haribalu (Jos), T. Abhay (Kan), S. Vigneshwaran (Na m), N. Surendran (BCA) 7; 11-13: G. Santhosh Kumar (Che), S. Narendra Kumar (Cbe), B. Sekar (BCA) 6.5.

Girls: 1. Pon. N. Krithika (Jos) 9; 2. S. Harini (Kan) 8; 3-4: S. Athirai (Ddl), P. Uthra (Tlr) 7.5; 5-7: R. Preethi (Mdu), P. Sivasankari (Jos), R. Bharathi (Che) 7; 8-9: Anjanaa N. Sowjanyaa (Kan), A. Sithalatchumi (Mdu) 6.5.

City Police (Chennai) advances

At Madurai, Bhaskar’s goal in the ninth minute helped City Police (Chennai) defeat host Reserve Line Sports Club 1-0 and move into the third round of the 15th annual Rajamani Kanagamani Ammal memorial Trophy State-level hockey tournament at the Madurai Police Centenary Stadium on Tuesday.

The results: Tamil Nadu Special Police 5 (Krishna Kumar, Pradeep, Saravanakumar, Senthil, S. Khan) bt Rock Fort XI (Tiruchi) 1 (Abraham); Thirunagar HC 2 (Solai Arasu, Rajesh Kannan) bt Dhyan HC 1 (Madan Singh); AGORC 2 (Sudalaimuthu, Gopi) bt Evergreat HC 0.

Christhu Raja HSS wins

At Tirunelveli, Christhu Raja Higher Secondary School (Palayamkottai) won the junior boys’ title with an all-win record (12 points) in the five-team super-league in the Tirunelveli district inter-panchayat union hockey league for the Sarah Trophy organised by SDAT and TDHA at Anna Stadium, Palayamkottai, on Monday.

St. Joseph’s Girls HSS (Jawaharnagar) won the junior girls’ title with an all-win record.

Final standing:

Boys: 1. Chrishu Raja HSS (12 points), 2. Concordia HSS (Valliyur) (7), 3. GHSS (Kadayanallur) (5); 4. SSV HSS (Mathapatnam) (2); 5. Vaiyapuri MHSS (Sankarankovil) (1).

Girls: 1. St. Joseph’s GHSS (Jawaharnagar) (12), 2. GHSS (Nadukallur) (5), 3. Vaiyapuri MHSS (3), 4. SSV HSS (3), 5. GHS (Nanguneri) (2).

Two share lead

At Madruai, G. Sureshkumar of SRNM College (Sattur) and J. Karthikeyan of Subramania College of Arts and Science (Palani) shared the lead with six points each at the end of the seventh round of the Madurai Kamaraj University chess tournament on Tuesday.

Important results:

Seventh round: S. Ganesh Babu (Thiagarajar College) 5.5 lost to G. Sureshkumar 6; P. Sridhar (MTN) 5 lost to Md. Fakrudin (Madura) 6; J. Karthikeyan 6 bt AR. Vijayalakshmi (LDC) 5; R. Ashwin (Kodai CC) 4.5 lost to M. Muthuraja (Sourash tra) 5.5; D. Palanikumar (Yadava) 5.5 bt R. Rajadurai (Madura) 4.5; G. Purushothaman (Subramania) 5 drew with T. Jyeaganesh (Arulanandar) 5; A. Anandaraj (Arulanandar) 4 lost to R. Sivaraj (Palaniandavar) 5.5; C. Manikalai (Meenakshi College) 4 lost to K. Prasanna Chakravarthy (MTN) 5; M. Mareeshwaran (VHNSN) 5 bt K.D. Vignesh Babu (Sou. College) 4; P. Aravinda Raj (SVN) 4.5 drew with R. Pradeeshkumar (SVN) 4.5.

Chess tournament

At Madurai, Meenakshi Chess Centre of Vajpayee Charitable Trust, in association with Sri Prasanna Venkateswara MHSS, will organise a State-level open rapid chess tournament on August 5.

For details, contact B.T. Sethuraman, Secretary, MDCA, ph: 98431 55560.

Devangaer HSS in last four

Devangaer Higher Secondary School (Chinnalapatti) entered the semifinals of the sixth annual Kannan-Eswari Trust Trophy State-level inter-school volleyball tournament defeating St. Lassle HSS (Tuticorin) 25-17, 25-13 on Tuesday.

Other results:

Pre-quarterfinals: Hindu HSS (Srivilliputhur) bt Idayam Rajendran Residential School 25-16, 25-13; St. Britto HSS bt Govt. HSS (Alanganallur) 25-17, 25-10; SVK. HSS (A. Thekkur) bt VHN HSS 25-22, 25-11.

Hockey tournament

At Kovilpatti, the Nethaji Hockey Sports Club’s 25th annual silver jubilee State-level hockey tournament for the Rajamanickam memorial Trophy will be held at the G.K. Stadium from August 15 to 19.

Entries close on August 6. For details, contact Shanmugavel Pandian, Secretary, Nethaj Hockey Sports Club and Security Officer, Loyal Textile Mills Ltd., Kovilpatti, ph: 04632 220001, 99654 25187 or Alex, ph: 94431 53394.

Printer friendly page  
Send this article to Friends by E-Mail


News: ePaper | Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
Classifieds | Jobs | Updates: Breaking News |


Sportstar Subscribe

News Update

The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Archives | Contacts | Subscription
Group Sites: The Hindu | The Hindu ePaper | Business Line | Business Line ePaper | Sportstar | Frontline | Publications | eBooks | Images | Home |

Copyright 2007, The Hindu. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu