Online edition of India's National Newspaper
Tuesday, Mar 03, 2009
ePaper | Mobile/PDA Version

News: ePaper | Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
Retail Plus | Classifieds | Jobs |

Sport - Sports : General Printer Friendly Page   Send this Article to a Friend

Ankit enters second round

HYDERABAD: Ankit Sachdev of Delhi beat Elvin Antony of Tamil Nadu 6-3, 7-5 in the men’s singles first round of the Moin-ud-Dowla AITA all-India ranking tennis tournament organised by Secunderabad Club here on Monday.

The results (first round): Ankit Sachdev (Del) bt Elvin Antony (TN) 6-3, 7-5; P. Yogesh (Har) bt Vikas Chauhan (Har) 6-4, 6-1; Chandril Sood (U.P.) bt Divakar Krishik (Kar) 6-0, 6-2.

Vinod Sridhar (TN) bt Nihal Kapoor (TN) 6-1, 6-0; Santosh Ghadge (Mah) bt Kaushik Raju (Kar) 7-5, 6-2; Vikram B. Reddy (AP) bt Mohti Mayur (TN) 6-2, 6-0; T. Harshvardhan (WB) bt Vidhan Vyas (Del) 6-4, 6-3; H. Javed Akbar bt Sheikh Abdullah (AP) 6-4, 7-5.

Chetan Pandit (AP) bt Himanshu Mali (Mah) 6-4, 4-6, 6-4; P. Vijay Sunder (TN) bt S. Rajput (Del) 6-0, 6-4; Murali Mithun (TN) bt Anand Kunal (Del) 6-4, 6-2; Rohan Gide (Mah) bt Saurav Panja (WB) 6-2, 6-3; Sethu Kannan (TN) bt B. Bharat (Har) 6-4, 7-6(3); P.C. Vignesh (AP) bt Vijay Kannan (TN) 6-1, 6-1.

Bhanusree moves up

P. Bhanusree defeated Bhumika Sharma 8-2 in the girls’ under-12 first round of the all-India ranking tennis tournament for sub-juniors at the Ganesh Raman Tennis Academy here.

The results (first round):

Boys: Under-12: B.R. Nikshed bt R. Raswant 8-3; M. Sashank bt Mohammad Numik 8-3; B. Jashua bt S.H.R.K. Akhil 8-2; Jyothi Sumer bt Vikram Dhananjay 8-5; P. Siddarth bt D. Himakesh 8-1.

K. Rawal bt Apuroop Reddy 8-6; Taha Kapadia bt R.K. Rohit 8-1; S.A. Wahab bt C. Praneeth 8-0; Mohd Tahoorullah bt L. Anirudh 8-1.

Under-14: A.L. Anirudh bt Jyothi Sumer 8-1; P. Siddarth bt Siddhant Patel 8-2; Yash Puri bt D. Rama Chandra Reddy 8-0; C. Varun bt Nagendra Sai 8-4; K.K. Akash bt C. Tharunu Anirudh 8-4.

S.A. Wahab bt Jai Sachdev 8-5; Harshith Jain bt Gagan Sharma 8-3; Abhinav Macedo bt Pushpa Ketu 8-0; M. Krishna Chaitanya bt C. Arjun 8-1.

Girls: Under-12: P. Bhanusree bt Bhumika Sharma 8-2; Harshitha Rao bt Lakshmi Sai 8-0; S. Nidha bt Ilakya 8-5; R. Niharika bt C. Sravya 8-1; Mansi Reddy bt Sivanuja 8-0.

G. Sravya bt G.Namritha 8-0; C. Alekhya bt B.S. Sakshi Yadav 8-0; Saranya Nagpal bt S. P. Sowmya 8-2.

Under-14: Y. Pranjala bt V. M. Monica 8-0; K. Shrani bt S. P. Sowmya 8-2; Ilakya bt Raksha Bode 8-3.

P. Thanusree bt Mula Shivani 8-2; Manisha Vasi Reddy bt Sivanuja 8-3; P. Sudheera bt Mriga Basin 8-0.

Globe wins

Hyderabad Globe defeated South Central Railway 3-0 in the final of the Salar-e-Milath football cash prize money tournament at the Kurshid Jah Playground here.

For the winner, Shaker netted a brace in the 15th and 55th minute.

Then in the 60th minute T. Naidu completed the tally. Mr. Asaduddin Owaisi, MP, gave away the prizes.

Easy for MRCET

MR College of Engineering & Technology (Maisammaguda) recorded a seven-wicket win over SV Institute of Technology (Secunderabad) to enter the semifinals of the JNTU inter-collegiate State-level cricket tournament organised by MLR Institute of Technology (Dundigal) here.

The scores: SVIT, Secunderabad, 155 for six in 20 overs (Shashank 63, Vishwa three for 10) lost to MRCET 156 for three in 19.2 overs (Nitesh 83, Roshan 34).

APTD hockey

The AP Transco & Discoms State-level hockey tournament will be held at AC Subba Reddy Stadium in Nellore from March 18 to 20.

Eight teams will take part in the league-cum-knock-out format.

The event assumes significance as the State team to take part in the All India Electricity Board championship in Patiala will be picked based on the performances here.

Prabhu and Manoj hit hundreds

Centuries by Ranji players D. Prabhu Kiran (135) and Manoj Sai (123 n.o.) helped Royal Cricket Club defeat Friends CC by 360 runs in the Krishna District Cricket Association Power League for the Katragadda Madhusudhana Rao Memorial Trophy in Vijayawada on Monday. R.P. Anil (88) and D. Swaroop (84) too shone with the bat for Royal CC.

In another match, Rajendra piled up an unbeaten 163, guiding Patel CC to a 171-run victory over VVKRM XI.

K. Kishore (88 & four for 42) was another star peformer for the winner.

The scores:

Royal CC 462 for four in 50 overs (D. Prabhu Kiran 135, Manoj Sai 123 n.o., R.P. Anil 88, D. Swaroop 84) bt Friends CC 102 in 28 overs (K. Varun 42).

Patel CC 334 in seven in 50 overs (P. Rajendra 163 n.o., K. Kishore 88) bt VVKRM XI 163 in 45.4 overs (Leela Ram 51, K. Kishore four for 42).

Printer friendly page  
Send this article to Friends by E-Mail


News: ePaper | Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
Retail Plus | Classifieds | Jobs | Updates: Breaking News |

Sportstar Subscribe

News Update

The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Archives | Contacts | Subscription
Group Sites: The Hindu | The Hindu ePaper | Business Line | Business Line ePaper | Sportstar | Frontline | Publications | eBooks | Images | Ergo | Home |

Copyright 2009, The Hindu. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu