Online edition of India's National Newspaper
Thursday, Jul 01, 2010
ePaper | Mobile/PDA Version

News: ePaper | Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
Retail Plus | Classifieds | Jobs | Obituary |

Kerala - Thiruvananthapuram Printer Friendly Page   Send this Article to a Friend

MEMU services figure in timetable

Staff Reporter

THIRUVANANTHAPURAM: The decision to operate Mainline Electric Multiple Unit (MEMU) rail services on the Ernakulam-Kollam-Ernakulam sector on six days a week and mail and express trains announced in the Railway Budget are the highlights of the Railway timetable for the Southern zone that will come into effect from Thursday.

The MEMU services will be operated using eight-car rake and the train will stop at all stations on the stretch, according to the new timetable that was released in Chennai on Wednesday.

The MEMU services will operate on all days except Sunday. The 0356 service from Kollam will leave at 10.05 a.m. to reach Ernakulam at 2.20 p.m. In the return direction, Train No. 0357 will leave Ernakulam at 2.45 p.m. to reach Kollam at 6.40 p.m. However, the date of introducing the MEMU services has not been mentioned by the Railways in the timetable.

Railway sources said the MEMU is likely to be introduced in the last quarter of the financial year as the shed at Kollam is to be commissioned and the rakes have to reach the division.

New trains

The new express trains that figure in the timetable are the 2224/2223 Ernakulam-Lokmanya Tilak Bi-weekly AC Duronto Express, 2653/2654 Tiruchirappalli-Mangalore Central Weekly Express via Podanur, 6538/6537 Nagercoil-Bangalore Express Weekly via Madurai and Hosur, 2081/2082 Kozhikode-Thiruvananthapuram Jan Shatabdi Express via Kottayam (five days a week) and the 2519/2520 Ernakulam-Pune Expess bi-weekly via Panvel.

The passenger trains that have found a place in the timetable include the 0656/655 Nilambur Road-Shoranur Passenger daily and the 0625 Kozhikode-Kannur Passenger now running as special into a daily train. The date of introduction of these express and passenger trains will be notified later.

The timings and the days of service figure in the timetable. Railway sources said the trains will be introduced on receipt of the rakes and before the next Railway Budget is presented in Parliament.

Extension of trains

The 6342/6341 Thiruvananthapuram-Ernakulam Daily Express will be extended up to Guruvayur. The date of commencing services up to Guruvayur will be notified later.

The 2777/2778 Yesvantpur-Kochuveli Express has been extended up to Hubli. The 0624 Mangalore-Kannur Passenger has been extended to Kozhikode (daily), the 0615 Thrissur-Kozhikode Passenger to Kannur (daily) and the 0616 Kozhikode-Shornur Passenger from Kannur (daily). The date of extending these trains will be notified later.

The frequency of the 6605/6606 Mangalore-Nagercoil Ernad Express has been changed from tri-weekly to daily. But, the date of running it as a daily train will be notified later. The 6527/6528 Yesvantpur-Kannur Tri-weekly Express has been made a daily with effect from June 25.

Experimental stoppages

Experimental stoppages have been provided for the 2218 Chandigarh-Kochuveli Express at Kasaragod; 6334/6333 Thiruvananthapuram-Veraval Express at Kanhangad; 6338/6337 Ernakulam-Okha Express at Koyilandy; 2201 Lokmanya Tilak-Kochuveli Express at Kasaragod; 2484 Amritsar-Kochuveli Express at Shoranur; and the 2202/2201 Kochuveli-Lokmanya Tilak Express at Tirur railway station.

The 6627/6628 Madras-Mangalore West Coast Express had been given stoppage at Parappanganadi; 6312/6311 Kochuveli-Bikaner Epxress at Tirur; 6305/6306 Ernakulam-Kannur Intercity Express at Parappanangadi; and 1098/1097 Ernakulam-Pune Poorna Express at Kanhangad.

The 6308 Kannur-Ernakulam-Alappuzha Express has been given stoppage at Valikunnu; 0387/0388 Coimbatore-Mangalore Fast Passenger at Valikunnu; 0619/0622 Kozhikode-Kannur Passenger at Chemancherry; and 611 Coimbatore-Kannur Passenger at Tirunavaya.

The experimental stoppages given to the 6527/28 Yesvantpur-Kannur Express at Tellicherry & Badagara; 2217 Kochuveli-Chandigarh Express at Kasaragod; 2202 Kochuveli-Lokmanya Tilak Express at Kasaragod; and 2483 Kochuveli-Amritsar Express at Shoranur have been made permanent with effect from July 1.

Printer friendly page  
Send this article to Friends by E-Mail


News: ePaper | Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
Retail Plus | Classifieds | Jobs | Obituary | Updates: Breaking News |

News Update

The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Archives | Contacts | Subscription
Group Sites: The Hindu | The Hindu ePaper | Business Line | Business Line ePaper | Sportstar | Frontline | Publications | eBooks | Images | Ergo | Home |

Copyright 2010, The Hindu. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu