Online edition of India's National Newspaper
Thursday, Dec 02, 2010
ePaper | Mobile/PDA Version

News: ePaper | Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
Retail Plus | Classifieds | Jobs | Obituary |

Sport - Cricket Printer Friendly Page   Send this Article to a Friend

Century by Reagan Pinto puts Goa on top

Special Correspondent

Reagan Pinto celebrates his century.

HYDERABAD: An unbeaten century by Reagan Pinto (106, 217 balls, 14 x 4), saw Goa score 334 for five at close in the four-day Ranji Trophy Group A Plate match against Hyderabad at Rajiv Gandhi Stadium here on Wednesday.

After being reduced to 97 for three at one stage in the pre-lunch session, Goa feasted on a directionless bowling attack as the day progressed. Either bowling short or over pitching and invariably bowling the wrong line, Hyderabad bowlers never tested the batsmen on a pitch which eased out considerably after every session.

The day clearly belonged to the free-stroking Pinto, who struck his second century of the season even as Vidyuth Sivaramakrishnan (43, 52 balls, 7x4) batted freely before being surprised to be declared lbw.

For Goa, useful partnerships were the order of the day as Pinto, first in the company of Ajay Ratra (51) and in the final session with Saurabh Bandekar (46 batting) pushed Hyderabad on to the back foot.The ease with which Pinto walked down the track or laid back to play strokes square on either side of the wicket was an object lesson in the art of scoring. The way he stood up to pull fast bowler Kaneshkk Naidu to reach his century was perhaps symbolic of Goa batting's domination this day.

For Hyderabad, fast bowler Kaneshkk Naidu was impressive in patches and left-arm spinner Lalith Mohan started off well when he flighted the ball a lot only to eventually look ordinary with the batsmen showing greater freedom.

The scores: Goa — 1st innings: S. Kamat c Khaleel b Khader 22, V. Naik b Kaneshkk Naidu 24, S. Vidyuth lbw b Absolom 43, R. Pinto (batting) 106, A. Ratra c Khaleel b Khader 51, R. Keni (run out) 34, S. Bandekar (batting) 46. Extras: (b-5, lb-2, w-1) 8; Total: (for five wkts in 90 overs) 334.

Fall of wickets: 1-34, 2-50, 3-97, 4-184, 5-269.

Hyderabad bowling: Absolom 15-1-72-1, Khader 12-1-65-2, Kaneshkk 18-1-66-1, Lalith 20-4-50-0, Ravi Teja 9-4-12-0, Quadri 7-0-37-0, Sandeep 9-1-25-0 .

Other scores: Super League: Group A: At Delhi: Delhi 332 for five in 90 overs (Unmukt Chand 59, Aditya Jain 58, Mithun Manhas 100 batting, Mayank Tehlan 61 batting) vs. Assam.

At Valsad: Mumbai 282 for two in 90 overs (Sahil Kukreja 81, Onkar Gaurav 89, Ajinkya Rahane 54 batting, Wasim Jaffer 46 batting) vs. Gujarat.

At Rajkot: Railways 233 for four in 90 overs (Faiz Fazal 107, Sanjay Bangar 79 batting) vs. Saurashtra.

At Chennai: Tamil Nadu vs. Bengal, no play possible (rain).

Group B: At Dharmasala: Karnataka 254 in 86.3 overs (Amit Verma 76, Stuart Binny 109, Mohinderraj Sharma five for 29) vs. Himachal Pradesh one for no loss in one over.

At Bhubaneswar: Punjab 277 for three in 90 overs (Sarul Kanwar 104, Uday Kaul 55 batting, Mandeep Singh 43) vs. Orissa.

At Ghaziabad : Uttar Pradesh 167 in 49.5 overs (Piyush Chawla 49, Sachin Rana four for 51) vs. Haryana 84 for no loss in 32 overs (Nitin Saini 49 batting).

Plate League:

Group A: At Indore: Jharkhand 131 in 45.4 overs (Anand Rajan four for 31) vs. Madhya Pradesh 135 for three in 36 overs (Naman Ojha 44).

At Kota: Tripura 95 in 44.2 overs (Pankaj Singh eight for 32) vs. Rajasthan 99 for three in 42.3 overs (Aakash Chopra 47 batting).

Group B: At Jammu: Jammu & Kashmir 253 in 86.2 overs (Arshad Bhatt 66, Hardeep Singh 60 n.o.) vs. Andhra.

At Kochi: Maharashtra 150 for three in 62 overs (Nikhil Paradkar 45) vs. Kerala.

At Nagpur: Services 206 for five in 91 overs (Pratik Desai 51, Soumyaranjan Swain 62 batting) vs. Vidarbha .

Printer friendly page  
Send this article to Friends by E-Mail


News: ePaper | Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
Retail Plus | Classifieds | Jobs | Obituary | Updates: Breaking News |

Sportstar Subscribe

News Update

The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Archives | Contacts | Subscription
Group Sites: The Hindu | The Hindu ePaper | Business Line | Business Line ePaper | Sportstar | Frontline | Publications | eBooks | Images | Ergo | Home |

Copyright 2010, The Hindu. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu