Online edition of India's National Newspaper
Tuesday, Jan 04, 2011
ePaper | Mobile/PDA Version

News: ePaper | Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
Retail Plus | Classifieds | Jobs | Obituary |

Karnataka - Mysore Printer Friendly Page   Send this Article to a Friend

Polls: counting of votes today

Staff Correspondent

Results are expected to be announced by noon

Total poll percentage recorded was

72.16 in Mysore district

Prohibitory orders have been imposed in

Mysore city till Tuesday midnight


Security:Police personnel guard the ballot boxes at the Maharani's College in Mysore on Monday.

MYSORE: The fate of candidates who fought in the taluk and zilla panchayat elections in Mysore region comprising districts of Mysore, Mandya and Chamarajnagar will be known on Tuesday, when the counting of total votes polled will take place.

The district authorities have made elaborate arrangements for the counting of votes in the respective taluk centres. Panchayat elections were held in Mysore, Mandya and Chamarajnagar districts in the second phase on December 31.

In Mysore district, the counting will begin at 8 a.m. at the respective taluk centres. The results are expected to be announced by noon.

Total of 207 candidates contested for 46 zilla panchayat seats and 629 candidates fought from 170 seats of the 171 taluk panchayat seats in Mysore district. Besides candidates of all major political parties, there are about 47 independent candidates in the fray. According to figures available from the Mysore district administration, 9, 31,507 people, including 4, 45,620 women and 4,85,887 men, in Mysore district cast their votes in the elections. The total poll percentage registered was 72.16 per cent, according to Deputy Commissioner Harsh Gupta.

Meanwhile, Police Commissioner Sunil Agarwal has issued prohibitory orders under section 144 Cr.PC across Mysore city with effect from Monday midnight (January 3) to the midnight of Tuesday (January 4) in view of the counting of votes at Maharani's Arts and Commerce College on JLB Road here on Tuesday.

In a press release here, victory procession after the declaration of results and bursting of crackers in public places and in front of residential houses has been prohibited.

Any gathering of more than five persons within 100 meters radius of the counting centre has also been banned. Storage, transportation, carrying or usage of weapons, incitation to use lethal weapons, dangerous and hazardous articles have been totally banned.

The sale of liquor is banned during the prohibitory orders. Prominent among those whose fate has been sealed in the electronic voting machines are former MLA and JD(S) leader Suneetha Veerappa Gowda who fought the elections from Somathapura zilla panchayat seat in T. Narsipur taluk.


Chamarajanagar Correspondent reports:

The Chamarajanagar district administration has made all arrangements for counting of votes polled in the taluk and zilla panchayat elections, on Tuesday. The counting of zilla and taluk panchayat constituencies in Chamarajanagar taluk will be held at the Government Polytechnic college , Chamarajanagar. The counting in Kollegal taluk will be held at MGSV PU college, Kollegal, following the counting in Gundlupet taluk at JSS college, Gundlupet, and Government PU college in Yelandur. A total of 296 counting staff has been appointed to decide the fate of the 379 candidates. Separate counting for zilla and taluk panchayats will be started at 8 a.m. and it would take 13 rounds to announce the final results. For the first time, electronic voting machines (EVMs) were used for panchayat elections. The district police have tightened security arrangements to ensure peaceful counting.

Printer friendly page  
Send this article to Friends by E-Mail


News: ePaper | Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
Retail Plus | Classifieds | Jobs | Obituary | Updates: Breaking News |

News Update

The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Archives | Contacts | Subscription
Group Sites: The Hindu | The Hindu ePaper | Business Line | Business Line ePaper | Sportstar | Frontline | Publications | eBooks | Images | Ergo | Home |

Copyright 2011, The Hindu. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu