Online edition of India's National Newspaper
Saturday, May 28, 2011
ePaper | Mobile/PDA Version


News: ePaper | Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
Retail Plus | Classifieds | Jobs | Obituary |

Sport - Bridge Printer Friendly Page   Send this Article to a Friend

Indian women outplay Pakistan to lead the field

Chennai: India's women recovered to lead the field on the second day of the 16th Bridge Federation of Asia and Middle East (BFAME) championship here on Friday.

The team, comprising Rita Choksi, Bharati Dey, Yvetti Singapuri, Aparna Sai and Prabha Kunder, outplayed Pakistan 19-11 and then drew with Palestine 15-15. India is in front with 82 victory points (VPs) followed by Thursday's leader Jordan (76) and Pakistan (76).

In the men's section, Saudi Arabia caused a minor flutter, defeating India 18-12 in the fourth match of round-robin one. The host made up by defeating Jordan 22-6.

After the fifth and concluding match of the round robin one, India leads the men's section with 95 VPs. This was despite conceding two penalty points for carrying mobile phones during play. Pakistan (84), Saudi Arabia (72), Bangladesh (65) and Sri Lanka (62) make up the rest of the table.

SDAT (Chennai) wins

SDAT (Chennai) and GKM Foundation (Kancheepuram) emerged the men's and women's champions respectively in the State-level volleyball tournament at Pallipalayam, Namakkal, recently.

It was a three-way tie between SDAT, TNP and BSNL (Chennai), but SDAT won with a better score ratio (1.213).

In women's section, GKM Foundation maintained a clean slate for the title.

The results: League: Men: SDAT (Chennai) bt TN Police 25-12, 25-20, 30-28; SDAT bt NSC 25-22, 25-22, 25-13; TN Police bt BSNL 25-18, 16-25, 25-22, 25-12; TN Police bt NSC 25-22, 25-18, 25-23; BSNL bt SDAT 25-19, 14-25, 24-26; 25-23, 15-13; BSNL bt NSC 25-21, 25-21, 25-19.

Women: GKM Foundation (Chennai) bt JBAS (Chennai) 26-24, 25-6; GKM bt SDAT 25-20, 12-25, 25-14; GKM bt PSGR Krishnammal 25-17, 25-21; SDAT bt JBAS 25-12, 25-16; JBAS bt PSGR Krishnammal 25-18, 25-21; PSGR Krishnammal bt SDAT 18-25, 26-24, 25-19. Final standings: Men: 1. SDAT (1.213); 2. TNP (1.027); 3. BSNL (0.988); 4. NSC (Chennai). Women: 1. GKM Foundation (Kancheepuram); 2. SDAT (1.113); 3. JBAS (1.038); 4. PSGR Krishnammal (0.869) .

IOB in final

IOB beat Kodagu 3-1 to enter the final of the K.R. Educational Institutions-Lakshmi Ammal Memorial all-India hockey in Kovilipatti on Friday.

Adam Sinclair put IOB ahead in the 31st minute, but Poonacha equalised soon. Shanmugam gave IOB the lead again, four minutes after the break and Vinoth Rayer netted in the 60th minute to settle the issue.

NFVC to host IVL's Chennai edition

As part of the Golden Jubilee celebrations, the Nellai Friends Volleyball Club (NFVC) will conduct the Chennai edition of the IVL competition at the Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium from June 4 to 8.

Six teams, Chennai Spikers, Maratha Warriors, Karnataka Bulls, Yanam Tigers, Hyderabad Chargers and Kerala Killers are taking part in the event.

Panimalar EC and SAIL are the sponsors and the prize money of Rs .2,50,000 will be sponsored by Jones Foundation. Admission is free.

Members of NFVC and Dr. Sivanthi Club are making the arrangements under a committee consisting of Walter Dawaram (President), C. Sakthi Kumar (Panimalar), S. Davidson (Zonal Director NCB), M. Tamizh Vendan (DC Customs), and A.K. Chitrapandian (Organising Secretary).

Racing championship

The MRF-FMSCI National motorcycle racing championship will be held at the MMSC track in Irungattukottai on June 3.

The championship will have five rounds conducted by the MMSC with the second round being held in Coimbatore.

Riders from all over the country are expected to take part in the two categories — Novice and Open — on four classes of bikes, Group D 4 stroke up to 130cc, Group D 4 stroke up to 165cc, Group B 4 stroke 165cc and Group A superbikes up to 600cc.

The total prize money will be Rs. 20 lakh. Details from or mob: 24990998.

The programme:

Round I: June 3-5 (Chennai), Round II: July 1-3 (Coimbatore), Round III: August 12-14 (Chennai); Round IV: September 2-4 (Chennai) and Round V: September 30-October 2 (Chennai) .

Printer friendly page  
Send this article to Friends by E-Mail


News: ePaper | Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
Retail Plus | Classifieds | Jobs | Obituary | Updates: Breaking News |

Sportstar Subscribe

News Update

The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Archives | Contacts | Subscription
Group Sites: The Hindu | The Hindu ePaper | Business Line | Business Line ePaper | Sportstar | Frontline | Publications | eBooks | Images | Ergo | Home |

Copyright 2011, The Hindu. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu