Online edition of India's National Newspaper
Thursday, Jun 30, 2011
ePaper | Mobile/PDA Version


News: ePaper | Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
Retail Plus | Classifieds | Jobs | Obituary |

Karnataka Printer Friendly Page   Send this Article to a Friend

SWR's latest timetable has more trains, extended services

Staff Reporter

Two new trains from Bangalore to Mysore from July 1

BANGALORE: The Railway Regional Public Timetable released recently by the South Western Railway (SWR) will come into effect from Friday (July 1).

Introduction of new trains, including Bangalore City-Mysore Rajya Rani Express; regularisation of special trains, including the services of five diesel multiple units (DEMU); extension of trains, including Yeshwantpur-Mangalore (16515/16516) Intercity Express to Karwar; and increasing of the frequency of Howrah-Yeshwantpur-Howrah Duranto Express (12245/12246) are among the things that the new timetable contains.

New trains

The new services, including those of train no. 16558/16557 Bangalore-Mysore-Bangalore Rajya Rani Daily Express and 16560/16559 Yeshwantpur-Mysore Daily Express, will commence on July 1 as recently announced by Minister of State for Railways K.H. Muniyappa.

However, the dates of commencement of the following new trains will be announced later, the SWR said.

Train no. 17315/17316 Vasco da Gama-Velankanni-Vasco da Gama Weekly Express will leave Vasco at 9.50 a.m. on Mondays and arrive at Velankanni at 1 p.m. the next day. The return service will leave Velankanni at 1.45 p.m. on Tuesdays to reach Vasco at 7.40 p.m. the next day.

Train no. 19406 Ahmedabad-Yeshwantpur-Ahmedabad Weekly Express will depart from Ahmedabad at 9.40 p.m. on Saturdays to arrive at Yeshwantpur at 6.40 a.m. on Mondays. Train no. 19405 will leave Yeshwantpur at 10.45 a.m. on Mondays to reach Ahmedabad at 7.20 p.m. on Tuesdays.

The Chennai-Shirdi-Chennai Weekly Express (22601/22602) will depart from Chennai Central at 10.10 a.m. on Wednesdays and reach Shirdi at 11.30 a.m. on Thursdays. The return service will leave Shirdi at 8.25 a.m. on Fridays to reach Chennai Central at 9.40 a.m. on Saturdays.

The weekly express connecting Bangalore and Ernakulam (22607/22608) will leave Ernakulam at 5 p.m. on Sundays to reach Bangalore City at 4.20 a.m. on Mondays. Train no. 22608 will leave Bangalore City at 5.15 p.m. on Mondays to reach Ernakulam at 4.20 a.m. on Tuesdays.

Yeshwantpur-Gorakhpur-Yeshwantpur Weekly Express (15024/15023) will leave Yeshwantpur at 11.40 p.m. on Thursdays to reach Gorakhpur at 5.05 a.m. on Sundays. The return service will leave Gorakhpur at 8 a.m. on Tuesdays to reach Yeshwantpur at 11.15 a.m. on Thursdays.


The SWR has decided to regularise the services of the following special trains. They are: 22681/22682 Mysore-Chennai-Mysore Weekly Express; 22817/22818 Howrah-Mysore-Howrah Weekly Express; 76507/76508 Bangalore Cantonment-Bangarpet-Bangalore Cantonment DEMU; 76553/76554 Bangalore City-Dharmapuri-Bangalore City DEMU; 76517/76518 Marikuppam-Bangarpet-Marikuppam DEMU; 76506/76505 Kolar-Bangalore Cantonment-Kolar DEMU and 66528/66527 Bangarpet-Kuppam-Bangarpet EMU.


The tri-weekly intercity express between Yeshwantpur and Mangalore will be extended to Karwar at a date to be notified later. Train no. 16515 will leave Yeshwantpur at 6 a.m. on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays to reach Karwar at 11 p.m. the same day. Train no. 16516 will leave Karwar at 5.30 p.m. to reach Yeshwantpur at 10.25 p.m. the same day instead of the present 7.30 p.m.

On the extended stretch, the train will halt at Mangalore Junction, Udupi, Mookambika Road, Bhatkal, Gokarna and Kumta.

Train no. 16206 Mysore-Shimoga Town Intercity Express will leave Mysore at 6 a.m. and reach Talaguppa (extension) at 2.15 p.m. with halts at Anandapura and Sagara. Train no. 16205 will leave Talaguppa at 2.30 p.m. to reach Mysore at 11.50 p.m. While the new timings will be effective from July 1, the date of extension of service to Talaguppa will be notified later.

Similarly, the dates of extension of 56905/56906 Hubli-Bijapur-Hubli Passenger to Solapur; 11423/11424 Solapur-Gadag-Solapur Intercity Express to Hubli and increasing the frequency of 12079/12080 Bangalore-Hubli-Bangalore Janshatabdi Express from six days a week to daily will be notified later.

Printer friendly page  
Send this article to Friends by E-Mail


News: ePaper | Front Page | National | Tamil Nadu | Andhra Pradesh | Karnataka | Kerala | New Delhi | Other States | International | Opinion | Business | Sport | Miscellaneous | Engagements |
Retail Plus | Classifieds | Jobs | Obituary | Updates: Breaking News |

News Update

The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Archives | Contacts | Subscription
Group Sites: The Hindu | The Hindu ePaper | Business Line | Business Line ePaper | Sportstar | Frontline | Publications | eBooks | Images | Ergo | Home |

Copyright 2011, The Hindu. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu