News Update Service
Tuesday, January 27, 2009 : 2100 Hrs      
RSS Feeds

  • Top Stories
  • National
  • International
  • Regional
  • Business
  • Sport
  • Sci. & Tech.
  • Entertainment
  • Agri. & Commodities
  • Health

  • Index

  • Photo Gallery

    The Hindu
    Print Edition

  • Front Page
  • National
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Andhra Pradesh
  • Karnataka
  • Kerala
  • Delhi
  • Other States
  • International
  • Opinion
  • Business
  • Sport
  • Miscellaneous
  • Index

  • Magazine
  • Literary Review
  • Metro Plus
  • Business
  • Education Plus
  • Open Page
  • Book Review
  • SciTech
  • NXg
  • Entertainment
  • Cinema Plus
  • Young World
  • Property Plus
  • Quest

  • Sport
    Foreign athletes arrive for Nagpur International Marathon

    Nagpur (PTI): As many as 13 international athletes, who are participating in the maiden Nagpur International Marathon on January 30, have arrived here on Tuesday three days ahead of the race.

    President of Indian Olympic Association (IOA), Suresh Kalmadi and Beijing Olympics gold medalist Abhinav Bindra along with Sa Re Ga Ma champion singer Vaishali Made who hails from Vidarbha region would be arriving here on January 29, convenor of the Marathon, Union Minister of State for New and Renewable Energy, Vilas Muttemwar said here today.

    While Kalmadi would be here to oversee the arrangements for the race, Bindra would flag off the races and Vaishali will take part in the celebrity run.

    Kenyan Ambrose Makau, Zenawork Melaku Jufar, Maresha Feleke (both Ethopia), Valeriy Pisarev, Kulia Femas, Philip Makau Muia, Eston Nyaga Ngira, Agnes Kutunga Mutune, Douglas Gwandaru, Desdary Lucian Hombo (all from Kenya) and Sara Bonfice Kavina (Tanzania), arrived today. Rest of foreign athletes are reaching tomorrow morning, Muttemwar said.

    Meanwhile, preparations are in full swing to organise the first-ever international races which will commence from Kasturchand Park ground on January 30 at 6.30 am and conclude at Yeshwant Stadium in Dhantoli.

    Total prize to the tune of Rs 37 lakh was at stake for the winners in various full marathon (49 kms) and half marathon (21 kms).



  • Bangalore
  • Chennai
  • Hyderabad
  • Delhi
  • Thiruvananthapuram

  • Sections: Top Stories | National | International | Regional | Business | Sport | Sci. & Tech. | Entertainment | Agri. & Commodities | Health | Index
    The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Contacts | Subscription
    Group Sites: The Hindu | Business Line | Business Line News Update | Sportstar | Frontline | Publications | eBooks | Images | Home

    Copyright © 2008, The Hindu. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu