News Update Service
Friday, April 25, 2008 : 2125 Hrs      
RSS Feeds

  • Top Stories
  • National
  • International
  • Regional
  • Business
  • Sport
  • Sci. & Tech.
  • Entertainment
  • Agri. & Commodities

  • Index

  • Photo Gallery

    The Hindu
    Print Edition

  • Front Page
  • National
  • Tamil Nadu
  • Andhra Pradesh
  • Karnataka
  • Kerala
  • Delhi
  • Other States
  • International
  • Opinion
  • Business
  • Sport
  • Miscellaneous
  • Index

  • Magazine
  • Literary Review
  • Metro Plus
  • Business
  • Education Plus
  • Open Page
  • Book Review
  • SciTech
  • NXg
  • Entertainment
  • Cinema Plus
  • Young World
  • Property Plus
  • Quest

  • Entertainment
    'Chak De India', 'OSO' strike it rich at IIFA technical awards

    Mumbai (PTI): Shah Rukh Khan starrers "Chak De India" and "Om Shanti Om" swept the technical awards of the International Indian Film Academy (IIFA) announced here on Friday.

    While "Chak De..." won five titles, "Om Shanti Om" bagged four of the 14 awards that were announced. The winners will be presented trophies at the IIFA Weekend that will be held from June 6 to 8 in Bangkok, a press release issued here said.

    Shimit Amin's "Chak De India" swept the awards for technical excellence winning for best cinematography (Sudeep Chatterjee), best editing (Amitabh Shukla), best sound recording (Manas Choudhary and Ali Merchant), best sound re-recording (Anuj Mathur) and best screenplay (Jaideep Sahni), who jointly shared the honours with Anurag Basu for "Life in a Metro".

    Close behind was Farah Khan's "Om Shanti Om" with four awards for best art direction (Sabu Cyril), best special effects (Red Chillies Entertainment Pvt Ltd.), best costume designing (Manish Malhotra, Karan Johar and Sanjiv Mulchandani) and best makeup (Bharat-Dorris, Ravi Indulkar and Namrata Soni).

    The choreography award went to Vaibhavi Merchant for "Aaja Nachle" for the title number, while Javed Sheikh and Ejaz Sheikh won the best action award for "Shootout at Lokhandwala". The award for best sound recording went to H Sridhar for "Guru" for the song 'Barso re...', while A R Rehman won the IIFA Award for best background score for the same flick. Imtiaz Ali won the IIFA for best dialogues for the movie "Jab We Met".



  • Bangalore
  • Chennai
  • Hyderabad
  • Delhi
  • Thiruvananthapuram

  • Sections: Top Stories | National | International | Regional | Business | Sport | Sci. & Tech. | Entertainment | Agri. & Commodities | Index
    The Hindu Group: Home | About Us | Copyright | Contacts | Subscription
    Group Sites: The Hindu | Business Line | Business Line News Update | Sportstar | Frontline | Publications | eBooks | Images | Home

    Copyright © 2008, The Hindu. Republication or redissemination of the contents of this screen are expressly prohibited without the written consent of The Hindu