Date:14/03/2009 URL:

Andhra Pradesh - Hyderabad

TDP awaits outcome of seat-sharing talks

Party may contest at least 10 of the 18 seats

Candidates certain to be renominated are sitting MLAs T. Srinivas Yadav and G. Sayanna

Actor Murali Mohan likely to be fielded from Jubilee Hills if there is no BC candidate

HYDERABAD: With all eyes on the party leadership to decide on the final seat-sharing with its ‘Mahakutami’ allies, the Telugu Desam Party (TDP) city unit is waiting and watching. While the precise picture is likely to emerge in a couple of days, local leaders claim that the party may contest at least 10 of the 18 seats in the jurisdiction carved out for Hyderabad district.

The leadership would also be considering the claims made by aspirants from BCs, youth and minorities since it had assured 100 seats for BCs and 40 per cent for youth throughout the State. These permutations and combinations have put many an aspirant on tenterhooks.

‘Pucca’ candidates

Sure-shot candidates are the current MLAs - T. Srinivas Yadav (Secunderabad) and G. Sayanna (Secunderabad Cantonment). Other Assembly constituencies from where the TDP’s candidates are more or less finalised are: Khairatabad – either former Minister and city chief K. Vijayarama Rao or general secretary B.N. Reddy, Nampally – Former Wakf Board Chairman Mohd. Saleem and Charminar – son of party leader Ibrahim Masqati, Ali Masqati.

Its candidates could also contest from segments of Gosha Mahal – Arvind Kumar Goud, Bugga Rao, Bajrang Sharma or Prem Kumar Dhoot. Sanatnagar segment has been sought by the Telangana Rastra Samiti (TRS), otherwise P.L. Srinivas is a prime aspirant.

Similarly, M. Gopal and M.N. Srinivas are vying for the Musheerabad segment even though the TRS is staking claim for former Minister N. Narasimha Reddy.

TRS is also seeking Sanatnagar segment while Malakpet is being sought by the CPI. For the latter, former Corporator Muzaffar Ali, youth leader Arshad Ali Khan, Amrender Goud and Singireddy Srinivas Reddy are trying for the party ticket. M. Gopal could also be considered for the Amberpet segment.

Murali Mohan?

Film star Murali Mohan could be fielded from Jubilee Hills if a weaker section candidate is not chosen. For Malkajgiri segment, Maheswar Reddy, Veeresh Yadav and B.K. Mahesh are aspiring. The MBT has sought the Chandrayanagutta segment for its candidate.

Mr. Vijayarama Rao is also being considered for Serilingampally segment or for the Parliamentary constituencies of Secunderabad or Malkajgiri.

The city unit is confident of putting up a good show and claims to be in a position to bag five to six Assembly seats. However, the grumble is that the veterans could be walking away with all the tickets, leaving the second rung leadership high and dry, yet again.

© Copyright 2000 - 2009 The Hindu